We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

NECA Recognition of Safety Achievement Program

NECA's Recognition of Achievement in Safety Excellence and Recognition of Zero Injury Achievement

The National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) formally recognizes electrical contractors that adopt safety and health related work practices, as a core value, within their organization. Having the results that demonstrate this commitment is instrumental. NECA Recognition of Achievement in Safety Excellence and NECA Recognition of Zero Injury Achievement are elite safety recognition programs focused on the electrical construction industry, recognizing companies that excel in multiple areas of their safety and health programs.

About the Program

NECA Recognition of Achievement in Safety Excellence and NECA Recognition of Zero Injury Achievement recognize companies that thrive on maintaining OSHA recordable rates at levels lower than industry. Both programs seek to recognize companies that have taken safety above and beyond compliance.

The Zero-Injury recognizes those member-companies that have worked a full calendar year without recordable incidents.

The Safety Excellence is the association's premier recognition program, and acknowledges member-contractors' safety performance.

When registering, contractors will automatically be entered into two Safety Recognition Programs: Zero Injury and Safety Excellence. Winners are selected based on their comparison to BLS data and electrical contractors.

View winners archive

The Application Process 

  1. The program opens on January 1, 2021 and will close on March 1, 2021.  Apply here.
  2. Applications received after March 1, 2021 will not be considered as program participants.
  3. Finalist applications will then be sent to district for review.
  4. Safety Excellence and Zero Injury plaques will be sent directly to winning companies and will be recognized at association national, chapter and district meetings including the NECA Safety Professionals Conference.
  5. Only one application submission is required to be entered for both recognition programs.
  6. NOTE: the username and password for the recognition website is separate from your NECAnet username and password. You must register as a new participant every year.

Apply Today! 

Download the 2019 survey form to collect the data necessary prior to completing your online application. 

Data Evaluated 

There are four parts to the selection criteria: 

  1. Incident Rates
    • Recordable Cases
    • Lost Workday
    • Non-Fatal Cases Without Lost Workdays
    • Fatalities
  2. Experience Modification Rate (EMR past 3 years documented)
  3. OSHA Citations
  4. Operations and Best Practices 

Note: Frequency and severity rating are important, but the rates will not be the sole source for determining winners.

Man-hours Categories:

  • 1 to 25,000 man-hours
  • 25,001 to 50,000 man-hours
  • 50,001 to 100,000 man-hours
  • 100,001 to 150,000 man hours
  • over 150,001 man-hours 

Schedule & Deadlines:

  • January 1, 2021 program opens.
  • March 1, 2021 applications must be received, no late applications will be accepted. 
  • March 19, 2021 applications will be evaluated and finalists will be selected. 
  • April 9, 2021 NECA will post Recognition of Achievement recipients on website. 
  • May 26, 2021 NECA Safety Professionals Conference Recognition. 
  • June 4, 2021 plaques and letters will be distributed.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact Wes Wheeler at 202-991-6284 or at Wesley.Wheeler@necanet.org.